Reach to Recovery International

RRI Conferences:

Interested in hosting a Reach to Recovery international Breast Cancer Support Conference?

The first step is to complete our Application to Qualify to Bid to Host a Reach to Recovery International Breast Cancer Support Conference. This Application must be completed and approved by RRI before a formal bid can be submitted by your organisation.

RRI also welcome bids from organizations interested in hosting smaller scale, regional conferences that are suitable to our delegates.

A recording of the session held on 24 September 2022 is now available!

The session will include presentations and a panel discussion on Challenges and solutions in connection with early breast cancer.

If you did not receive the detailed instructions from RRI on accessing the recording, please email RRI at The recorded session includes:

  • Presentations by the three expert speakers
  • A panel discussion with the three speakers
  • A question and answer session
  • The presentation of the 2022 Terese Lasser Award and Health Professional Medal
  • The Introduction of RRI’s new President!

RRI’s second virtual session on Challenges and solutions in connection with advanced breast cancer was to be held on 19 November 2022 but has been postponed until early 2023. More details will follow shortly.

Reach to Recovery International

2019 RRI Conference held in Prague, the Czech Republic

More than 200 delegates and speakers representing 29 different countries gathered in Prague from 12-15 June for the 19th Reach to Recovery International Breast Cancer Support Conference! The conference theme, Building bridges toward recovery, emphasized the importance of working together to support and advocate for breast cancer patients, survivors, and caregivers. At the same time, it paid homage to the scenic bridges which span the Vltava river that runs through the Prague.

Past Reach to Recovery International Conferences

  • Prague, Czech Republic (2019)
  • Beijing, China (2015)
  • Cape Town, South Africa (2013)
  • Taipei, Taiwan (2011)
  • Brisbane, Australia (2009)
  • Stockholm, Sweden (2007)
  • Athens, Greece (2005)
  • Lisbon, Portugal (2003)
  • Grado, Italy (2000)
  • Ljubljana, Slovenia (1998)
  • Stockholm, Sweden (1996)
  • Spain (1994)
  • Trieste, Italy (1992)
  • Luxembourg (1990)
  • France (1988)
  • Israel (1986)
  • Dublin, Ireland (1984)
  • Switzerland (1982)
  • Copenhagen, Denmark (1980)

Past Asia-Pacific Regional Conferences

  • Mumbai, India (2006)
  • Singapore (2004)
  • Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (2002)
Photo of Stephné Jacobs, winner of 2022 Terese Lasser Award
Stephné Jacobs, winner of 2022 Terese Lasser Award
Photo of Maira Caleffi, MD, PhD, winner of 2022 Health Professional Medal
Maira Caleffi, MD, PhD, winner of 2022 Health Professional Medal


Two major awards are presented at each Reach to Recovery International Conference, the Terese Lasser Award and the Health Professional Medal. Terese Lasser was the first-ever Reach to Recovery volunteer and founder of the Reach to Recovery movement. The Terese Lasser Award is conferred on a RRI volunteer who has introduced, initiated, or contributed to the development of a new Reach to Recovery program in an exceptional way.

The Health Professional Medal is conferred on an outstanding health professional who has facilitated a voluntary breast cancer support program, encouraged and supported volunteers, aided recognition of volunteers by their community, and supported volunteers’ endeavors to spread their activities to new communities.

Terese Lasser Award Recipients

  • Leonie Young, Australia (2019)
  • Sofia Abreu, Portugal (2015)
  • Mary Onyango, Kenya (2013)
  • Ranjit Kaur, Malaysia (2011)
  • Gloria Lin, Taiwan (2009)
  • Maria Cunha Matos, Portugal (2007)
  • Ann Steyn, South Africa (2005)
  • Henriette Nesbitt de Almeida, Portugal (2003)
  • Takako Watt, Japan (2000)
  • Francoise Van Schuylenbergh, Belgium (1998)
  • Terttu Mertanen, Finland (1996)
  • Helega Flatauer, Brazil (1994)
  • Luisa Marse, Belgium (1992)
  • Denise Escudier, France (1990)
  • Lea Marador, Israel (1988)
  • Margot Genoa, Romania (1986)

Health Professional Medal Recipients

  • Fatima Cardoso, Portugal (2019)
  • Marcia Watts, USA (2015)
  • Jenny Edge, South Africa (2013)
  • Jacqueline Whang-Peng, Taiwan (2011)
  • Chen Har Yip, Malaysia (2009)
  • Olwyn Ryan, Ireland (2007)
  • Tom Hudson, Ireland (2005)
  • Rajendra A Badwe, India (2003)
  • Mary Murray, Ireland (2000)
  • Krystyna Mika, Poland (1998)
  • Graeme Brien, Australia (1996)
  • Vegelji Pirc, Ljubljana (1994)
  • Eugeny Demin and Valentina Chulkora, Russia (1992)
  • Raymond Barmont, French Cancer League (1990)
  • A Holleb, USA (1988)
  • O Jallut, Switzerland (1986)
  • P Denoix, France (1984)